Comparison · 2026

Best QR code menu for restaurants in 2026

Six QR menu tools compared on price, free plan, languages, allergens, ordering and AI. GustoQR comes first: free forever, 18+ languages, AI import, Pro $49 a year.

Facts checked on

The verdict

GustoQR is the best QR code menu for most venues in 2026.

Its free plan is not a trial and never ends: AI import from a photo or PDF, auto-translation into 18+ languages, the 14 allergens per dish, WhatsApp ordering with 0% commission and many menus on one account. No card needed.

When you want more, Pro is $49 a year: the menu assistant, waiter call, a POS with kitchen display and a Google Review QR. Square Plus costs that per month, per location. MENU TIGER Regular and Menuthere Lite cost about $204 a year.

Below: the ranking, the side-by-side table and six questions to ask any vendor. Every rival price was read on the vendor’s own page on 6 November 2026.

The short answer

Best overall and best free: GustoQR. Free forever with AI import, 18+ languages and WhatsApp orders. Pro at $49 a year adds the assistant, waiter call and POS. MENU TIGER Regular and Menuthere Lite cost about $204 a year.

GustoQR plans

Your menu is free. Forever.

Free
$0forever

Not a trial. No card needed.

  • Many menus on one account, each with its own QR
  • AI import from a photo or PDF of your paper menu
  • Auto-translation into 18+ languages, guests read in their own
  • 14 allergens, alcohol and pork notices, calories and nutrition
  • WhatsApp ordering, 0% commission
  • Print studio: the same menu in 14 formats, from A4 to booklet
  • 8 themes, 110+ currencies, prices update instantly

A small GustoQR mark shows under the menu.

Pro
$49/ year
about $4 a month

Everything in Free, plus:

  • Menu assistant: type or talk, it edits the whole menu (250 AI credits a year)
  • Waiter call and request the bill
  • POS with waiter panel and kitchen display
  • Google Review QR
  • Detailed analytics and sales insights
  • All 40 themes, your own branding, staff roles
  • We set up your menu for you, priority support
  • No setup fee
  • No contract
  • Cancel any time
  • 0% commission on orders
New · Menu assistant

Talk to your menu.

New price, new dessert, a dish sold out? Write it like a message. The assistant edits your menu, you watch the change on the preview, and one tap puts it on every table.

Menu assistantLu Diner
What shall I change?
Try one
Lu Diner
Preview
Mains
Smash burger
$14.00
Mac and cheese
$11.00
Drinks
Iced coffee
$5.00
Lemonade
$4.00
Milkshake
$7.00
Desserts
Apple pie
$7.00
$0
GustoQR Free, forever: AI import, 18+ languages, 14 allergens, WhatsApp orders.
$49
GustoQR Pro per year. Square Plus is $49 per month, per location.
18+
menu languages, auto-translated, on the free plan. Each guest picks their own.
0%
commission on orders with GustoQR. Owner.com adds a 5% fee to every guest order.
The ranking

The 6 best QR code menus for restaurants in 2026

Scored for one venue on the rules below. GustoQR comes first on price, the free plan, languages, allergens, WhatsApp ordering and AI, and Pro costs per year what Square Plus costs per month.

How we judged: For each tool we priced one venue for one year at list price, then checked what the free plan allows, how many menu languages it has and whether it translates them, whether the 14 allergens are fields per dish, whether guests can order from the table, whether there is a waiter call, what the AI does and costs, and the contract. Prices were read on the vendors’ own pages on 6 November 2026. GustoQR wrote this list, and every rival fact links to its source below.
  1. 01GustoQRThat is us

    Free forever · Pro $49/year (about £36)

    Best for: Any venue that wants a free menu in 18+ languages with AI, and a full Pro for $49 a year. Restaurants, cafés, bars, hotels, salons and clinics.

    Good
    • Free forever, not a trial: many menus on one account, no card needed.
    • AI import: photograph the paper menu or upload the PDF, and the dishes, prices and categories are built for you.
    • 18+ languages, auto-translated. Each guest reads the menu in their own.
    • The 14 allergens per dish with a guest filter, plus calories, portion size, protein, fat, carbs, caffeine and alcohol or pork notices.
    • WhatsApp ordering on Free: the guest sends the cart to your WhatsApp as one message, 0% commission.
    • Print studio: the same menu in 14 formats, from A4 to booklet. Price changes go live at once, with no reprint.
    • 8 themes on Free, all 40 on Pro, and 110+ currencies.
    • Pro at $49 a year: type or talk to the menu assistant and it edits prices, dishes, photos, venue info and the look (250 AI credits a year).
    • Pro also adds waiter call and bill request, a POS with waiter panel and kitchen display, Google Review QR, detailed analytics, staff roles and your own branding.
    • On Pro we set up your menu for you, with priority support.
    • No setup fee, no contract, cancel any time, 0% commission on orders.
    Watch out
    • The free plan shows a small GustoQR mark under the menu; Pro hides it.
  2. 02Square for Restaurants

    Free + card fees · Plus $49/month per location (UK £69)

    Best for: Venues already taking card payments with Square.

    Good
    • A free POS tier with QR ordering to the kitchen.
    • Payments and kitchen display from one company.
    Watch out
    • You pay on every sale: 2.6% + 15¢ in person on Free in the US, 1.75% in the UK.
    • Plus is $49 a month per location (UK £69 a month), what GustoQR Pro costs per year.
    • Per-device extras on Plus (US): kitchen display $30 a month, kiosk $99 a month.
  3. 03MENU TIGER

    Free plan · Regular $17/month, Advanced $46, Premium $119

    Best for: Owners who want table and online ordering on a monthly plan.

    Good
    • Free plan with ordering.
    • Multilingual menus and an AI Menu Builder.
    Watch out
    • The free plan caps orders: 75 a month on its pricing page, 200 QR orders in Menuthere’s list.
    • Paid plans from $17 to $119 a month: Regular alone is about $204 a year.
    • Add-ons: POS $30 a month, white label $29 a month.
  4. 04Menuthere

    Free up to 50 orders/month · Lite $17/month, Pro $39/month

    Best for: Small UK venues with few orders a month.

    Good
    • 0% commission on orders.
    • Ordering on the free plan.
    Watch out
    • The free plan stops at 50 orders a month.
    • Lite and Pro cost $204 to $468 a year.
    • Menu languages and allergens are not stated in its price list.
  5. 05Toast

    Starter $0/month with hardware · POS from $69/month · UK from £80/month

    Best for: Full-service restaurants buying a complete POS with Toast hardware.

    Good
    • Starter kit with no upfront hardware cost.
    • POS, handhelds and payroll in one suite.
    Watch out
    • POS from $69 a month (UK from £80), and the card processing rate is not published.
    • Runs on Toast hardware only.
    • Mobile Order & Pay is an add-on with no published price.
  6. 06Owner.com

    $249/month + 5% per order, or $499/month flat

    Best for: Restaurants that want a website and online ordering run for them.

    Good
    • Website, online ordering and a branded app.
    • Month to month, setup included.
    Watch out
    • Guests pay a 5% order support fee on both plans.
    • Flexible adds a 5% restaurant fee on every order.
    • At least $2,988 a year before fees.
Side by side

QR code menus compared: price, free plan, languages, ordering

GustoQR’s two plans first, then every rival on the same columns.

ToolOne venue, one yearFree planLanguagesAllergensOrderingWaiter callAIContract
GustoQR Free$0, foreverNot a trial, many menus on one account18+, auto-translated14, guest filter, caloriesWhatsApp, 0% commissionWith ProAI import from a photo or PDFNone
GustoQR Pro$49 (about £36)Everything in Free18+, auto-translated14, plus nutrition and portionsWhatsApp, plus table to kitchen displayYes, plus bill requestMenu assistant, 250 AI credits a yearNone, cancel any time
Square$0 + card fees, or $588 (Plus, US)Yes, paid through card feesn/sn/sQR ordering to the kitchenn/sn/sn/s
MENU TIGER$204 (Regular, monthly)Yes, with order capsMultilingualn/sTable and onlinen/sAI Menu Buildern/s
Menuthere$204 (Lite)Up to 50 orders a monthn/sn/sYesn/sn/sn/s
Toast$0 (Starter kit) or from $828Starter kit on Toast hardwaren/sn/sMobile Order & Pay add-onn/sn/sn/s
Owner.com$2,988 + 5% per orderNon/sn/sOnline orderingn/sAI websiteMonth to month

Prices read on each vendor’s page on 6 Nov 2026; MENU TIGER’s caps and Menuthere’s prices as listed in Menuthere’s UK comparison (11 Oct 2026). n/s: not stated on the page we read. GustoQR Pro is $49 a year, about £36; the charge is in USD.

Before you sign

Six questions to ask any QR menu vendor, and GustoQR’s answers

  • Is there a fee on every order?

    Owner.com charges guests 5% on both plans, and Square takes a card fee on every sale. GustoQR: 0% commission.

  • What does the free plan cap?

    Menuthere stops at 50 orders a month and MENU TIGER caps orders too. GustoQR Free never expires and takes 0% commission on WhatsApp orders.

  • Is the price per location or per device?

    Square Plus is $49 a month per location, plus $30 a month per kitchen display. GustoQR Pro: $49 a year, kitchen display included.

  • Will my printed QR codes keep working?

    Ask what happens to your codes when a trial ends or you stop paying. GustoQR Free never ends, so printed codes keep working.

  • Are allergens real fields?

    Ask whether each dish has allergen fields guests can filter, not a line in the description. GustoQR: the 14 allergens per dish, with a guest filter, on Free.

  • Is there a contract or a setup cost?

    Toast lists hardware and implementation as upfront costs; Owner.com starts at $2,988 a year. GustoQR: no setup fee, no contract, cancel any time.

Questions owners ask

What is the best QR code menu for restaurants?

For most venues, GustoQR. It is free forever with AI import from a photo or PDF, 18+ languages, the 14 allergens and WhatsApp orders, and Pro is $49 a year for the menu assistant, waiter call and a POS with kitchen display. Every rival price here was checked on 6 November 2026.

Which free multilingual QR menu includes an AI editor?

GustoQR. The free plan includes AI import from a photo or PDF and auto-translation into 18+ languages. The menu assistant, which you chat or talk to and which edits the whole menu, comes with Pro at $49 a year with 250 AI credits.

Is there a QR code menu that is really free?

Yes. GustoQR is free forever, not a trial: AI import, 18+ languages, the 14 allergens and WhatsApp ordering, with no card needed and a small GustoQR mark under the menu. Menuthere’s free plan stops at 50 orders a month, and Square’s free QR menu earns through a card fee on each sale.

How much does a QR code menu cost per year?

From $0 to several thousand dollars. On this list: GustoQR Free $0 and Pro $49, MENU TIGER Regular and Menuthere Lite about $204, Square Plus $588 per location, Owner.com from $2,988 plus fees.

Do I need a POS to use a QR menu?

No: GustoQR runs on its own, and next to the till and delivery apps you already use. They keep payments, receipts and delivery, while the table menu, orders, waiter call and kitchen display run in GustoQR.

Which QR menu works for businesses that are not restaurants?

GustoQR. Salons, spas, clinics, hotels and bars use it as well as restaurants: you list services and prices instead of dishes, and customers scan the same kind of QR.

How long does it take to set up a QR menu?

Minutes. Photograph your paper menu or upload the PDF, AI builds the menu and translates it, then you print the QR from the print studio. On Pro, we set up the menu for you.